The ASM ora-04031 error, better known as: Adding more disks to an ASM Instance than there is memory..

To accommodate a change of strategy  I needed to add an additional 20 disks to the current ASM instance I had running..This needed to be done in the shortest time possible, and when the Storage and Linux Admin where done, I could start and create the ASM Disks and diskgroups. Labeling the disks with

# oracleasm createdisk DATA099 /dev/lun99

went fine for all the LUNs, however when I wanted to created the disk groups in ASM, I was suddenly greeted by an

ORA-04031: unable to allocate 32 bytes of shared memory ("shared pool", .... )

message..and there was no more possibility to add another disk group. This made sense, when checking the SGA of the running instance:

$ sqlplus / as sysasm
sql> show parameters sga
< output here>

Fortunately: the current disks/disk groups kept running despite the out of memory of the ASM. I’m not sure if this was by design, but I at least was happy it kept humming along, especially since this ASM instance hosts all the DEV/TST environments and they needed to keep running until we had a convenient time to shut all the databases neatly down.

There are at least two solutions to this issue:

A) Allocate more memory to the ASM instance with a shutdown.

B) Prevent this issue from happening in the first place by enlarging the memory before adding disks.

In my case I’m using AMM in conjunction with /dev/shm and not ASMM with HugePages. Make sure the /dev/shm can accommodate the new setting you plan to use, otherwise the instance won’t start at the next boot/restart of the instance!

About GemsOfProgramming

Beeing a previously enthusiastic Java programmer, I rolled into the Oracle Database Administration world. It turned out I got a knack for this, and since approx. 2000 I'm a full time DBA. My experiences touches lot of Oracle products like Forms and Reports 9/10, JDAPI, Application Server, Weblogic Fusion and of course: Oracle Enterprise Databases, JavaFX, Swing and other Java components.
This entry was posted in ASM, Databases, Technical Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

