To Convert or not to Convert…to the Wholy Iphone!

Hi guys,

I just wanted to share a thing, and we’ll see if how this is working out…

I have an Iphone..I’m not ashamed of this, but I’m also not an Apple evangelist either..What is mostly like about this piece of hardware is the ability to play movies/TV-series everywhere I am..especially when waiting in a queue 😉 But it is such a hassle to have the movies/TV-series to the device..

So I wrote a little tool in Java which is able to help me with just this task, and this tool is the thing I want to share with you. This tool is basically a sort of front-end for the excellent application Handbrake (http://handbrake.fr).

What does this Java application ?

Convert following files to iphone compatible movies/TV-series:

  • wmv
  • mp4
  • ts
  • flv

Also if you point this tool to the root of a DVD copied to disk, it will select the Dutch subtitles when available and convert this whole DVD with the subtitles burned in the movie, ready to watch on the Iphone.

Another enhancement is: besides a .m4v file, and avi can be created also. And what I also liked (and therefore programmed) is the removal of the original file when done.

Syntax is as follows:

java -jar FileConverter.jar /path/to/file(s) [avi] [del]

if there are multiple files/DVD’s in this location (let’s assume on a server 😉 ) all the files will be converted.

An example, you say? Sure!

I have my files located on this location:

/home/gems/Downloads

So I would use the command:

$java -jar /opt/tools/FileConverter.jar /home/gems/Downloads

to have the files converted to .m4v format (not deleting originals and not creating additional .avi files.

To have the original file deleted (Why should I keep this?)

$java -jar /opt/tools/FileConverter.jar /home/gems/Downloads del

and if I would like to have additional avi files(mostly when converting a DVD):

$java -jar /opt/tools/FileConverter.jar /home/gems/Downloads avi

or combine all:

$java -jar /opt/tools/FileConverter.jar /home/gems/Downloads avi del

I’m open for suggestions, this is just some helper tool I’ve written, and if there is interest, I can make alterations/improvements..

http://www.crocko.com/0021A581C60A4985AF2876E01C122AD4/FileConverter.jar

Hope to hear from you!

About GemsOfProgramming

Beeing a previously enthusiastic Java programmer, I rolled into the Oracle Database Administration world. It turned out I got a knack for this, and since approx. 2000 I'm a full time DBA. My experiences touches lot of Oracle products like Forms and Reports 9/10, JDAPI, Application Server, Weblogic Fusion and of course: Oracle Enterprise Databases, JavaFX, Swing and other Java components.
This entry was posted in Java, Technical Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

