Now where did I put my disks again?

I was looking for my disks in ASM, and while having fun spending time in the database, it seemed afterwards much easier to just use a tool specifically for the job.

And as always: you have to know it,before you can use it..

The time was not lost, though, it probably will result in a few nice posts about ASM and the +DISKS etc, but in this post I wanted to show how I found my allocated devices back:

The tool used is oracleasm

By issuing the command below we are able to identify which disks are not to be messed with ( or if the intention is to blow the database: you should mess with these 😉 )

$ oracleasm querydisk -d DISK1
Disk "DISK1" is a valid ASM disk on device /dev/sdc1[8,33]

Or, if we have a lot off /dev/sdX devices, we can ask directly if the specific sdX disk is an ASM disk:

$ oracleasm querydisk /dev/sdx1

That’s it! It’s a short one today, but it’s a gem nonetheless.. 😉

About GemsOfProgramming

Beeing a previously enthusiastic Java programmer, I rolled into the Oracle Database Administration world. It turned out I got a knack for this, and since approx. 2000 I'm a full time DBA. My experiences touches lot of Oracle products like Forms and Reports 9/10, JDAPI, Application Server, Weblogic Fusion and of course: Oracle Enterprise Databases, JavaFX, Swing and other Java components.
This entry was posted in Databases, Technical Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

